What’s Lonelier Than Social Distancing?

Social distancing PLUS needing to stay unvaccinated for health reasons.

Regina Rodríguez-Martin
5 min readJan 11, 2022
Photo 190448827 © Sulit Photos | Dreamstime.com

I used to work in the polio eradication division of Rotary International. I coordinated meetings that included representatives from Rotary, the World Health Organization, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. We were allied to immunize every child in the world against polio.

I left Rotary in 2014 because of my experience of what felt like poor management, but I stayed committed to the idea that vaccines could make diseases a thing of the past, if only everyone would take them. It infuriated me that not everyone would take them.

In March 2020, my primary health practitioner assured me her treatment fortified my immune system against the coronavirus. Sure enough, both my experiences with COVID included symptoms that didn’t make me miss even one day of work. In December 2020 she told me the careful five-year progress we had made on my health would be jeopardized if I took any of the coronavirus vaccines. So I made the permanent decision not to get vaccinated.

I live in Chicago. I’m a far left-wing hot-head who wanted Dennis Kucinich to be president in 2004. I and all my friends are Democrats who can’t stand Trump. So it has been hard…

--

--

Regina Rodríguez-Martin

Mexican American. Chicagoan. Generation X. Relishes questions of human behavior. Nobody’s mother and nobody’s wife. Blog: https://www.reginachicana.com.